30 Years A KISS

I use to wish upon a Star

Wondering what life has in stored

Will my hearts song take me far

Or will I be ignored

We met as school kids, a bit naive

With the glint of hope in our eyes

From the beginning I was hooked

When his stare locked upon mine

My heart skipped a beat or two or three

Wasn’t sure what I was feeling

Introducing himself, his name like music

Caressing my inner being

Becoming friends was the easy part

His humor brought smiles to my face

In those times it was greatly needed

The bullies ran wild in that place

He tried his best to protect me

And I saved him from eating paste

He even snuck a little kiss

But tattled cause I was scared of my fate

Feeling better knowing he was always around

Comforted my heart to the core

Til one day he disappeared from me

The comfort I felt no more

Fast forward in time we lived our lives

Got the battle scars as proof of our journey

A simple message from his mail to mine

He found me, bringing back history

He took his shot but I turned him down

Something I’ll always regret

But if love is truly meant to be

There’s no need to worry or fret

Invited him out to the cabin with me

A break we both deserved

Our conversations sped up my heart

So loud he probably heard

Shy and embarrassed with these feelings inside

Like a giddy school girl with a crush

He stared at me with warmth in his eyes

This moment I didn’t want to rush

Floods of emotions filled our core

Feelings I know now I’ve longed for and missed

He held me in his arms as our hearts beat as one

Now 30 years later he got his kiss.

Leave a comment